Logo BMDV Logo G7

G7 Multi-Stakeholder Conference on eSafety

The exponential use of online services across economies and societies is raising increasing safety concerns. One response to such concerns is “eSafety” or “Safety Tech”.

eSafety focusses on protecting people online: eSafety technology providers develop solutions to facilitate safer online experiences, and protect users from illegal and harmful content, contact or conduct. eSafety technology is a fast-growing global market. Wherever a G7 member adopts new rules to keep online communities safe, for example from harassment and abuse, eSafety tools are likely to play an important role in fulfilling legal mandates.

Building on the achievements of the UK G7 Presidency in 2021, the G7 Digital Ministers reaffirmed their commitment to improve online safety and reduce illegal and harmful content and activity on the Internet in their Ministerial Declaration of 11 May 2022. Improving eSafety is a shared responsibility of governments, companies, academia, civil society and other stakeholders. Besides technical solutions, safe and responsible Internet use requires informed decisions by everyone, empowered through improved digital skills and media literacy.

In an interactive online conference with three different panels

on 29 November 2022, 12:00 - 15:30 CET (11:00 – 14:30 UTC)

we want to explore with cross-sector stakeholders, especially from the tech and user side,

  • how eSafety technologies work and are already being used; [Session I]
  • what action is needed to make the online environment a safer place; [Session II]
  • how digital identities could provide another level of eSafety. [Session III]

In the keynotes, we take a science-based look at the intersection of eSafety technologies and human behaviour [Opening Keynote] and look to the near future and explore the challenges for a secure online environment in the era of Web3 and the metaverse. [Closing Keynote]

Format: three consecutive sessions with virtual networking possibilities.
Language: The conference will be held in English (without interpretation).
Moderator: Geraldine de Bastion and Sebastian Hallensleben (Session III)

Nach Oben

© 2022 Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport